Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

Pura Vida, Y’all!

2 Comments

Today is our last full day in Costa Rica. ☹️ Last night, after the blog we were treated to a great fireworks show over the Pacific. It was most certainly for a private party, but we prefer to think it was just another service offered by Villa Estrella. Diego, the house manager stopped by and was commenting that the fireworks show on New Years Eve is spectacular from this location. Vibe asked if there was a big show for the 4th of July…crickets, followed by lots of laughter. I wish we could blame this lapse on alcohol but sadly, not so much. 

Yesterday was so full of activity, we took the day off to recover. We may be the only group in history to need a day off from vacation.The pool party got pretty wild by late afternoon. I hate to name any names, but I’m pretty sure several of the girls might not be feeling the best for the trip home tomorrow, although this group has exceptional restorative powers, so you never know. In any case, it seems prophetic that Crazy Train by Ozzy Osborne is playing as I write this and listen to those crazy girls.

We had an extraordinary dinner tonight as a goodbye from the staff. Dinner included watermelon gazpacho soup, lobster, seafood risotto with crab, calamari and vegetables, and to finish cheesecake with mixed berries. The staff here at Villa Estrella has been over the top good. We come back to Texas more spoiled than when we left. I think consensus is that we’d love to come back sometime and that’s not something we often do.

After dinner we played a game of Squints. Which may be the strangest thing I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen some wild shit. I have included a description of the game. I’m just going to leave it there to protect the guilty.

We hope to make it safely back home to Texas tomorrow. The weather looks iffy for thunderstorms all day. We’ve already been told we can stay another night if needed, but truth be told, as much as this is paradise, I miss my house, my family, my dog and Texas. Thanks again to Julia for bringing us all together for another perfect week. It’s hard work setting all this up and we really do appreciate her efforts!

 One of the Costa Rican phrases we’ve learned this week is pura vida, which translates to pure life. It has many different meanings. It can mean something as simple as hello, goodbye, take it easy, or all good. I have been giving it a lot of thought these past few days. To me, it means living a peaceful, uncluttered life, in the moment, with a deep appreciation for friends, family and all your blessings great and small. It’s a sentiment I take home with me. Pura vida, y’all!

 
2 thoughts on “Pura Vida, Y’all!

  1. Wishing you all a safe trip home!

  2. Well said, my friend. One reason I avoid much of social media is that I fear I might feel compelled to respond to idiocy, which is a complete waist of time. Let’s pray for an outbreak of true tolerance, patience and charity toward those who dispise us and misrepresent us and our views. Respect for one another must be lived out and modeled for a new generation….”Teach Your Children Well”, as the song says.

Leave a Reply

