Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

Oh, what a week…

1 Comment

Sometimes you have a week that reminds you that you are no longer twenty, thirty or even forty.  This was one of those.  I started the week by buying a shiny new 2015 BMW 535i MSport.  Joe says that I’m easily distracted by all things shiny and this proved to be true about something besides jewelry and iPads.  The warranty on my 2011 BMW was about to run out and we were in a quandary about whether to spend $7000 to buy two more years of warranty, or just take our chances. Being an accountant by trade, it’s kind of amazing that I’d never put pen to paper to figure out how much it costs to actually own a BMW. Let me just say, it’s ridiculous. Joe outranks me, being a CPA and all, and tried to point out that the only way to get the average monthly cost down was to “KEEP IT LONGER THAN 42 MONTHS!”  He might as well have been talking to the wall, because by that point, I had already driven a new one. I had seen how far the electronic gadgets have come in the last 3 1/2 years. I had already discovered that the car would actually read my text messages and freakin’ Facebook posts…out loud…to me. A new one parked in the garage was a foregone conclusion by then.  I fear that Joe may have taken notes about how all this went down and have a better strategy 42 months from now, but I’ll worry about that sometime in 2018.

A couple of days later found us flying out to Dallas with tickets to see Fleetwood Mac at the American Airlines Center.  We rented a car through a new service called SilverCar, which only rents silver Audi A4s and nothing else. Our car had 16 miles on it.  It must have been my week for new cars.  They pick you up at the curb, drive you two blocks to their location, where you use an app on your phone to scan a bar code on the windshield of your car, get in and drive off. Pretty slick. We had originally talked about just getting a cab over to the W Hotel, until I mentioned one thing to Joe…S & D Oysters. With that one phrase we had a new SilverCar, and lunch, booked.  I’m not much on oysters, but their Lemon Pie is a work of art.

The concert was fabulous!  This is the first time in decades that all of the original members of Fleetwood Mac have been on tour together.  They did not disappoint. Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham met in high school in 1965 and are still making music together. I don’t know if you’re keeping track, but that means they are at least 10 years older than me. I’m amazed that they were still able to rock the house without the aid of walkers or Depends (I’m making an assumption on the Depends).  It was amazing.

We left the concert to a jazz band playing in the plaza, big snowflakes falling and everything covered in a blanket of white. While the short walk to our hotel was romantic, I was a little concerned about getting our Audi back undented and our flight back to Midland. Luckily, the morning sun did it’s part to make sure the Audi remained in new condition and our flight took off on time.

The next day, my Mom, my daughter Whitney and her two girls, Preslee and Jolee, arrived in Midland for their annual Spring Break visit.  There was lots of shopping, much overeating, two parks, Toys r Us, a family dinner, several bottles of wine, a birthday cake for a one year old, and only one minor melt down by one overly tired five year old. After a few days with the grands, I am always reminded how wise God was to give children to the young. I love getting to spoil without having to deal with the repercussions. Preslee, five, watched the History Channel with us every night and explained the phenomenon of sink holes better than the narrator. Of course, I think she will now be adding sink holes to her list of things, such as tornadoes, wildfires and hurricanes to worry about.  My house has never been messier than when inhabited by two small children, but I wouldn’t trade a minute of our time together.

On a side note…children should not be allowed inside a Toys r Us. It should be a place that adults go to buy stuff for kids, period. Children and parents are only setting themselves up for disappointment by allowing anyone under the age of 18 to enter. In fact, I contend that if Toys r Us had an adults only policy AND served wine, everyone, including the kids, would be happier. Can I get an “Amen!”

Whitney and crew left this morning and I’ll have a day and a half to wash sheets, towels and generally get everything back in order before I take my shiny new car on her first road trip to the Metroplex, where I’ll have the pleasure of keeping Courtney’s two girls while she and Dale spend a little solo time away from the kids.  I couldn’t be happier.  More rested maybe, but not happier. Rest is overrated anyway.

One thought on “Oh, what a week…

  1. That was SO sweet about your grand kids! You are a great grandmother!

    Glad the trip turned out so well!

Leave a Reply

