Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

Eastbound and Down

1 Comment

Mother was up at approximately 3 a.m. for our 10:45 flight to Dallas. I think she’s excited, or nervous, or both.  Getting through security at an airport the size of Wichita Falls should have been a piece of cake. The metal detector turned out to be a little too complicated. Mother didn’t realize you were supposed to simply walk through. The first couple of times she stopped dead in the middle of it, which of course, set it off. The agent finally just waved her on through, deciding she wasn’t much of a threat if she had trouble getting through the metal detector. Once she made it through the first hurdle, she decided to chat it up with the TSA agents about how much things have changed since the last time she flew…while the line behind us got backed up. First rule, do not make eye contact with the TSA agents, unless you like the pat downs. Second rule, do not slow down the line unless you want to get on the plane with a bunch of disgruntled passengers.

Once on the flight to Richmond, Mother told Julia and I that she was buying us enough drinks to “make us feel good.” Apparently, she does not know my tolerance for alcohol. If she did, she would realize that she didn’t bring enough money. I forgot for a minute that I wasn’t in first class and asked the flight attendant if he could go the back and whip me up a strawberry daquiri. He declined. This is the reason I like sitting up front.

We found our condo without any problem. It’s in a nice gated community. The guy at the registration desk handed me and key cards, along with a map and then told me the building was “up the hill” and that we were on the third floor. What the hell? Luckily, once we caught our breath, it turned out the place was very nice. But when we leave, I’m tossing the bags off the balcony and they can roll down the hill to our car.

We ate at the Bonefish Grill and the lobster was excellent. Not as excellent at the pumkin creme brulee, but really, really good just the same. The top picture is of our creme brulee as delivered to our table. The second is about a half a minute later. I’ve been dieting and just hit my goal just last week. That didn’t last long.

One thought on “Eastbound and Down

  1. Are you kidding me?? Pumpkin creme brûlée? Get out of my way! That sounds divine. That and lobster sounds pretty perfect. We are at a Bonefish in FL and really enjoyed it.

    Glad your mom survived the TSA!

    Have a great time.

    I am headed into foot surgery right now!!

    Take care, Cindy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

