Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

Day 4 – In Memory of Tilly

1 Comment

I face the day with equal parts of anticipation and anxiety.  Our “boat day” is always the most fun of the trip…but I don’t swim.  I panic if I can’t touch bottom.  Since I’m five foot nothing, nearly all pools and some hot tubs meet my criteria for panic…never mind the Caribbean.  I believe this makes me the bravest of the group because every year I stare into the face of death, and have emerged the victor…so far.

Early this morning, we saw this boat out in Grace Bay off our balcony.  I was hoping it was ours, but no such luck.  As it turns out, it is the “A” Hamilton and is the second most expensive yacht in the world, at a cost in excess of $300 million.  It is owned by a kinky Russian Billionaire.  We pulled up a Wall Street Journal video of it, and in addition to three boats housed in the boat garage, $40,000 shower faucets, three swimming pools and a disco <someone should tell him disco is dead>, there is a secret hidden “nookie room”.  You can’t make this shit up.  My first thought was “no way”…my second “it can’t be too secret if you can Google it”…and my third “you need a special room for that?”

Our boat was named the White Sands.  She is a 42′ four bedroom, four bath catamaran with a crew of three, which is probably slightly smaller than that of the yacht, but we don’t have to mortgage our houses to get her out of the harbor.  We did find out that Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie, or Brangelina as they are known by the Hollywood crowd, and all their kids, went out on the White Sands not long ago, so we are in pretty good company.  We may not be the A Hamilton, but we’re nothing to sneeze at either.

Tres is on the left in this picture.  Notice the Tilly hat he has on.  I’m sad to report that, although I survived the day and lived to tell the tale, Tilly was not so lucky.  I told you these boat rides were treacherous.  We can only hope she has gone on to a better place…like the A Hamilton.

The snorkeling was superb, or at least that’s what I was told.  One spot had a shipwreck and there were fabulous reefs all along our route. There was at least one 5′ nurse shark spotted.  I’m relieved we don’t have any nurses with us.  As far as the snorkeling went, I may not know much, but I’m pretty sure you should get rid of your snuff first.  Just sayin’.  All I can personally vouch for is the rum punch. What a great day!

 

One thought on “Day 4 – In Memory of Tilly

  1. I am distressed that you don’t swim!  Just for safety’s sake, not to mention that you are missing out on the fabulous underwater sights.  I think we need to cure that when you get back to Midland.

    Your reports are making me pretty envious.

    Stay Safe!

      Cindy Walton

    >________________________________ > From: Scarlott Letters >To: cwantiquer@yahoo.com >Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2013 7:20 PM >Subject: [New post] Day 4 – In Memory of Tilly > > > > WordPress.com >sscarlott posted: “I face the day with equal parts of anticipation and anxiety.  Our “boat day” is always the most fun of the trip…but I don’t swim.  I panic if I can’t touch bottom.  Since I’m five foot nothing, nearly all pools and some hot tubs meet my c” >

Leave a Reply

