Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

Fredericksburg Follies

5 Comments

I bred a couple of wimps. Everyone knows that just the simple act of getting in the car with me is an adventure…it’s expected and I did not want to disappoint. You would think their lives were flashing before their eyes the way they were carrying on. Backing up a bit, I guess I should explain that I am taking my daughters, Courtney and Whitney, on a mother/daughter trip to Fredericksburg. It’s the first time they have left their babies at home with their husbands, and all I can say is “what took you so long?” It’s also the first time in years that we’ve gone on a trip together.

The road trip was a little extreme at points, like when road construction took the road down to one lane and I was trying to make the light and didn’t realize the cars in front of me had stopped. On the bright side, my new car has an excellent brake system and the seats are stain resistant where Whitney peed her pants. She refused to ride shotgun from that point on. I don’t know why. All it took was dodging some road kill and passing some 18-wheelers to make the trip complete.

We stopped in Hico at the Koffee Kup Kafe. All three of us ordered off their low carb menu, but before you get too proud of us, Joe, I should tell you we ordered a piece of pie called “doctors office pie” to make up for the low carb stuff. I’d like to say that after several months on a low carb diet, it tasted like shit…I’d like to say that, but I can’t.

We finally made it to Fredericksburg and after checking in at our quaint cabin, we hit the shops on Main Street for a couple of hours. If I hadn’t birthed her myself, I would think that Courtney was not mine. She did not buy a single thing. Where did I go wrong? Luckily Whitney did not share her sister’s aversion to shopping.

We had authentic German food for dinner at Friedhelm’s Bavarian Inn, which is like stepping back into the 70s but has the best schnitzel this side of Germany. It was fabulous. After dinner, we went to Hondo’s which is a saloon that was started by the guy who owned Luckenbach. I had my first jalapeño margarita. It had a kick that wasn’t just alcohol related. I may have to develop my own skinny jalapeño margarita recipe to fill a hole in the market for a low carb version. Of course, Hondo’s version was pretty low carb because it was almost pure alcohol, with a slash of margarita mix.

The ‘Almost Patsy Cline’ band was playing outside in the courtyard and it was the place to be on Friday night in Fredericksburg. It was a great end to the day. My goal for tomorrow is to get Courtney to buy something.

5 thoughts on “Fredericksburg Follies

  1. Courtney must have a recessive gene from Way-y-y back, the one that doesn’t require retail therapy, or more probably did not get the shopping anytime any place gene. I don’t think the lack of it came from our side of the family. Can’t think of a soul who hasn’t had it.

  2. Sound like an awesome trip so far. I am thinking you need to get a theme and start giving the girls names…it just won’t be complete without it.

  3. Sound like an awesome trip so far. I am thinking you need to get a theme and start giving the girls names…it just won’t be complete without it.

  4. Sound like an awesome trip so far. I am thinking you need to get a theme and start giving the girls names…it just won’t be complete without it.

  5. I like my schnitzel with a side of 70’s. I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

