Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

Questions…pedicures to seat belts…

1 Comment

Julia woke up this morning wondering if you get a discount on pedicures if you only have one leg. These are the questions we ponder on our last day in Santa Fe. Not only that, we had a long way to go, a short time to get there…and not a particularly early start. What’s new?

Our first stop was the basilica, where true to form, there was a funeral going on. It seemed bad form to tour the place, so we went on to our next stop, San Miguel Mission. It is the oldest church in the United States, dating back to 1610. There is a bell, almost the size of the Liberty Bell, in the chapel and legend has it that if you ring the bell of San Miguel you will return to Santa Fe, so of course, we had to ring it.

We had a bit of good luck by discovering that The Pink Adobe was right across the street from the mission…lunch! We ate out on the quaint patio and when offered a margarita, did I let the fact that my friends declined in favor of iced tea stop me? No, I did not. It’s really inspiring the way I’m growing as a person.

Around the corner from the restaurant is a hotel called The Inn of Five Graces, which is one of the neatest hotels I’ve ever seen. Will I let the fact that the rooms rent for around a $1000 a night stop me from staying there sometime? Yes I will (I’m not an idiot).

Since we were on the plaza anyway, we did a little shopping and then headed back to the basilica for a quick tour before trudging back uphill to the condo. There were just enough margaritas in the freezer for us each to have one…after all, wouldn’t want it to go to waste…before packing up and heading to the airport in Albuquerque.

The trip back took us close to the fire burning near Los Alamos. It rained on us, while the mountain was on fire just a few miles away. We got to Albuquerque early enough to meet an old roommate of Julia’s for a drink (are you surprised) before catching our flights back to Texas. I don’t think there is a city on earth where Julia doesn’t know someone. Turns out, she is the daughter of one of my mother’s friends and her brother was in my high school class…small world.

You know how you always wonder why they give a seatbelt demonstration at the beginning of each flight? Well, wonder no more. It is for the sixty year old woman that was sitting next to me that had no clue how to fasten the thing. She was also making quite the fashion statement by wearing pantyhose with her flip flops and carrying a Hello Kitty backpack. Gutsy.

We all made it home safely and had a great time. And, the best part of all…I didn’t gain any weight. Miracles do happen!

20110630-041713.jpg

20110630-041743.jpg

20110630-041756.jpg

20110630-041806.jpg

20110630-045907.jpg

One thought on “Questions…pedicures to seat belts…

  1. Sounds like you all covered it all! I am so glad that Jim and I got to see you all. We loved it! Come back again very soon!

Leave a Reply

