Scarlott Letters

Just some stuff I find funny…

New England – Day 2 Part 2

Leave a comment

Rule #1–pack the benedryl.  You would think that there’s no way I could not sleep after a 21 hour day, but you would be wrong.  I’m blaming it on forgetting my benedryl.  I finally fell asleep at about 4:45 and the alarm I forgot to turn off  on my phone went off like clockwork, pardon the pun, at 6:00 a.m. sharp.  The cell phone won’t work here but the alarm works great, so I’ve got that going for me.  The bedside alarm went off at 6:30.  The chainsaw next door started about 7:00.  Sleep is over rated.

Getting up early had its benefits, namely drinking coffee and chatting with Michael and Julia out on the beautiful patio.  Not everyone had trouble sleeping in.  I won’t name names but if you’ve been keeping track, Julia and I were already up.  Anyway, we were locked and loaded and ready to roll at the crack of 1:30.

We went into the village and had a leisurely lunch at the Millstone Restaurant. We started with champagne with blood orange juice and it just got better from there.  After lunch…brace yourself for the surprise…we shopped.  There was one shop that had a warning on the door that there was a resident cat for those allergic.  They needn’t have bothered because the whole place smelled like a huge litter box.  I can’t imagine having cats in a storefront to begin with, but wandering around the $300 Eileen Fisher sweaters is enough to boggle the mind.  The smell was not enough to keep us from finding a few bargains…of course, when you add the cost of fumigation the sale was not all that good.

On the way to the liquor store, Julia did a little bull riding and true to champ she is, stayed on for the full eight seconds.  I rode a swan.  Kay and Leigh have not straddled anything…yet…but the trip is young and there has been talk of a lumberjack.  It’s hard to explain, so you’ll just have to see the pictures.

Once we had finished turning the bull into a steer, we headed to Michael’s other property at Hatch Pond, which is lake size by Wichita Falls standards.  The property was once an ice plant, back in the days when they actually cut ice from the pond in the winter and shipped it south by rail.  I was really hoping to kayak, but there was a little problem with the equipment, namely the bottom and every other part of the boat being rotten.  Damn, I was so looking forward to that…the one thing I had my heart set on.

I was so distraught over the kayak thing I almost wasn’t able to choke down the fabulous Greek pizza we brought home for dinner.  Luckily, I’ve got vodka tonics to get me through the crisis.

Share on Facebook

Share

Leave a Reply

